HPI scholarships: call for applications

24 Jul 2020
24 Jul 2020

Don't miss the deadline for this year's HPI scholarships. Applications close on 15 August.

PhD and Postdoctoral scholarships are available for qualifying students from the African continent in the fields of  computer science and information systems.


HPI scholarships



The Hasso-Plattner Institute (HPI) Research School at University of Cape Town, affiliated with the School of Information Technology at the University of Cape Town, annually grants PhD and Postdoctoral scholarships to qualifying students from the African continent in the fields of Computer Science (CS) and Information Systems (IS). We seek high quality applications centred on ideas that revolve around proposing and evaluating solutions to problems of computer science and information systems that emerge in the African context.

The school is financially supported by the Hasso Plattner Institute for Digital Engineering.

Members of the research school receive:

  • scholarship funding of EUR 1050/month (paid in ZAR up to ZAR 17,000/month)
  • a one-time equipment allowance of EUR 1000, and annual support of up to EUR 2000 for conference attendance.

Each member may be funded for up to four years, subject to regular progress reports.

Support is available for the research work of PhD and Postdoctoral candidates with the supervisors of the research school:

  • Jan Buys (CS) > Natural Language Processing
  • Irwin Brown (IS) > ICT Innovations in Organisations and Society, and IS Management
  • Josiah Chavula (CS) > Network Measurements, Performance Engineering and Software Defined Networking
  • Melissa Densmore (CS) > Human-Computer Interaction
  • Brian DeRenzi (CS) > Human-Computer Interaction
  • James Gain (CS) > Collaborative Visual Computing
  • Maria Keet (CS) > Knowledge Engineering
  • Michelle Kuttel (CS) > High-Performance Computing and Visualisation
  • David Johnson (CS) > Wireless Community Networks, Dynamic Spectrum Access
  • Tommie Meyer (CS) > Knowledge Representation and Reasoning
  • Deshen Moodley (CS) > Adaptive and Cognitive Systems
  • Ulrike Rivett (IS) > iCOMMS – Community Services
  • Lisa Seymour (IS) > Enterprise Systems, Business Process Management, IS Education, ICT4D
  • Hussein Suleman (CS) > Digital Libraries, Information Retrieval, and Educational Technology
  • Jean-Paul van Belle (IS) > ICT4D, D4D, emerging tech

Find out more here.