Faculty of Science

The Department of Computer Science is home to academic staff who are well regarded both nationally and internationally. The Department plays an important role in local industry and provides services to industries through technology transfer and applied research.

A key research focus area for the Computer Science Department is Artificial Intelligence (AI), with eight  staff members working in sub-disciplines of AI.  Additional research interests of staff fall in  following domains: Digital Libraries, Networks, Visual Computing, Visualisation, High-Performance Computing, Big Data, and Information and Communication Technology for Development (ICT4D).  Of these, ICT4D constitutes an important unifying theme for several staff members and this synergy led to the establishment of the Centre for ICT4D, a multidisciplinary centre supported by several international corporations. Some of the department’s staff members are also part of the Hasso Plattner Institute (HPI) Research School at UCT, and the Centre for Artificial Intelligence Research (CAIR). The department maintains links with IT-based industries within South Africa, including those in telecommunications, scientific and high-performance computing and visual effects and animation. 

The department produces high quality graduates with knowledge and skills relevant to the international and South African technology communities. A capstone Honours degree in Computer Science, provides graduates with opportunities in stimulating and well-paid careers both locally and abroad.

Head of Department: Professor Michelle Kuttel